Starting Over

Though this is a very short post, I think it says everything it needs to. It doesn’t take a bunch of big, fancy  words to get the point across, in my opinion.

Though this might be an obvious fact, sometimes we stray off the path. Sometimes we lose sight of the  crown ahead and compromise for earthly values. Sometimes we forget who we are in Christ and that we  are here to make a difference and create a change.

We get so far off that when we look up, we wonder how we got here. Where did we first begin to wander?  When did we first start to stray? This is when we have to push aside our pride, humble ourselves, and start  over.

It’s the small compromises that lead us down the wrong path, and sometimes we don’t know how to get  back. It’s the little choices we make, choosing wrong over right, that get us where we are now. It’s by our  own reasons that we’re doing the things we’re doing, thinking these things, saying these things, believing  these things.

A little over a year ago, I was doing great in my spiritual walk. I felt closer to God than ever before. And then  one day, things changed. I suddenly found I wasn’t getting in the Word anymore. I wasn’t praying as much.  And with those changes, I realized God felt farther from me than before. It was a sudden realization; I didn’t  know what went wrong. Where had I slipped up? What had happened?

It was the little things I had been compromising for, the temptation I didn’t flee from, the things I let creep  into my walk with God little by little that had overwhelmed me. I hadn’t been firm, I hadn’t stood my ground.  I caved. And as a result, it felt like the gap between myself and God had suddenly widened.

But though we change, God never does. He remains the same always and forever. He is the same God  today that I knew a year ago. We’re the ones that change. Now we need to go back and start over again.

“No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that  neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers,  neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God  that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Rom. 8:37-39)

For those who are lost, for those who have failed: there is a way back. Don’t let your pride hinder you from  starting over. God will never leave us nor forsake us. (Joshua 1:5)

2 Replies to “Starting Over”

  1. It’s human nature to try to diagnose the problem. “On Feb. 3, I did x, and that separated me from God.” Realistically, that’s rarely how it works. As C.S.Lewis said, the devil prefers the gentle, sloping path away from God, not the sudden dropoff.

    Nobody one day woke up and yielded to the temptation to stab someone. It was the fruit of a long time of little decisions and little compromises.

    Thank you! I’ve had my share of starting over, again and again, and it’s a nice reminder.

    Like

Thank you for reading! Comments are always appreciated!

