Guest Post

Today I have a guest post from my friend Mikayla over at The Bubblegum Ballerina (see my “Quick Note” post).

                                                                       When to Pray

First off I’d just like to say thank you to Lauren for letting me be here today. I’m not very graced in the art of making my spiritual thoughts coherent so please forgive my awkwardness.

When is the right time to pray? I’ve heard a lot of people ask this question and I’ve asked it myself sometimes.  I think the biggest section in the bible about prayer is in Matthew chapter 6 where God tells us to pray in our room with our door closed.

“And when you pray, you shall not be like the hypocrites. For they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the corners of the streets, that they may be seen by men. Assuredly, I say to you, they have their reward.  But you, when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly.  And when you pray, do not use vain repetitions as the heathen do. For they think that they will be heard for their many words.”

I think this has been one of the best chapters for my spiritual growth because I often feel uncomfortable praying aloud in front of people, not because I’m ashamed to pray but because I always felt like I was expected to say a long prayer and one that sounded correct but in this verse we’re encouraged to pray where no one can hear us but God.

We’re also told we “should always pray and not give up” in Luke 18: 1.

I think that God wants us to talk to him whenever we can because he never gets tired of talking to us and as long as you’re not praying just so people will hear us and think we are spiritual, I think you should pray no matter how small or big and no matter where you are.

Thank you for reading this!

-Mikayla-

4 Replies to “Guest Post”

Thank you for reading! Comments are always appreciated!

