You Are Not Alone

I know I haven’t posted in a while, and I’m sorry about that. I know this is really short, but I really haven’t had much to say, or  the time to write it down. There are times that God wants us to teach, and times when He wants us to be taught. I have been  going through a season of being taught, and it’s been really hard. Through the preparation of moving, I have to constantly  remind myself that I’m not the only one who’s going through this. I have to remind myself that I’m not alone.

And we so often forget that. When we’re faced with hard situations, it’s easy to forget that God’s always there without fail. It’s  hard to remember that we’re not alone in these trials.

Someone posed an interesting question recently in a class at my church: what would you do if you were on a steep,  dangerous mountain, blindfolded, and there was a storm coming? People asked a lot of questions to form the right answer  – could you take off your blindfold; how tall is the mountain; are you on the path? But no one asked the right question: are  you alone? The answer is, you are not alone. On that dangerous mountain, you have the best trail guide with you, who has  been up and down the mountain a billion times, and who can take you down safely.

The scenario was used as an illustration: we are not alone on whatever mountain we are stuck on. We have the best guide  in the world with us, ready to hold our hand and carry us through whatever it is we’re facing. He is with us even through  every trial, every situation. And the best part is, He never changes. He will always be with us, no matter what. “Jesus Christ  is the same yesterday and today and forever.” (Heb. 13:8)

7 thoughts on “You Are Not Alone

  1. I’m sorry you have to go through this, Lauren, but I’m glad God is using the opportunity to teach you more about Himself! We’ve talked about this before, but Ps. 139 is always a comforting passage to me when I feel alone.

    1 O LORD, You have searched me and known me.
    2 You know when I sit down and when I rise up; You understand my thought from afar.
    3 You scrutinize my path and my lying down, And are intimately acquainted with all my ways.
    4 Even before there is a word on my tongue, Behold, O LORD, You know it all.
    5 You have enclosed me behind and before, And laid Your hand upon me.
    6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; It is too high, I cannot * attain to it.
    7 Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your presence?
    8 If I ascend to heaven, You are there; If I make my bed in Sheol, behold, You are there.
    9 If I take the wings of the dawn, If I dwell in the remotest part of the sea,
    10 Even there Your hand will lead me, And Your right hand will lay hold of me.
    11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will overwhelm me, And the light around me will be night,”
    12 Even the darkness is not dark to You, And the night is as bright as the day. Darkness and light are alike to You.

    Like

    1. I cannot escape from this passage! I’m seeing it and hearing it everywhere! I don’t know what God’s trying to show me in these verses, but I’m going to have to start paying more attention!

      Like

  2. Wow! I love this post! It reminds me of an Oswald Chambers quote:
    “The surf that distresses the ordinary swimmer produces in the surf-rider the super joy of going clean through it. Apply that to our own circumstances, these very things—tribulation, distress, persecution, produce in us the super joy; they are not things to fight. We are more than conquerors through Him in all these things, not in spite of them, but in the midst of them. The saint never knows the joy of the Lord in spite of tribulation, but because of it. ‘I am exceeding joyful in all our tribulation,’ says Paul”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great job, Lauren! That’s a great reminder to me also. Thanks for the post! We each are in our own seasons and trials in life, but no matter which one we’re in (the teaching or being taught) this one is helpful to us at all times. Thanks!

    Like

Thank you for reading! Comments are always appreciated!

