When I Want to Burn My To-Do List…

Do you ever have days when you feel like you’re just a mess? When your day goes completely wrong, you lash out at your brother, you still have that untouched geography book on the bed next to you, and you’re in a constant battle with your emotions?

Yeah, that was me today. I only got half the things done I wanted/need to. My geography book is haunting me out of the corner of my eye, silently reminding me I have a test tomorrow that I need to study for. My emotions have been on a crazy roller-coaster ride for the past 3 months. I need to be doing extra school, since I’ll be out of town all of next week. I haven’t been reading the Bible like I should have for the past two weeks. I need to write blog posts. I have a book I really need to finish. And it’s 4:23 in the afternoon.

And it all makes me want to hide in my closet with a bag of salted almonds and chocolate (my refuge) and not come out. Ever.

What can we do for this to get better? How can it be fixed? There’s no sappy, easy, comfortable answer that I’m aware of (y’all correct me if you know of an easy way). You just have to push on. You have to keep going. You can’t allow yourself to stay there, only dreaming of the motivation to do it. You have to persevere, to keep at it even when everything in you screams to quit. You have to just do it, whether you feel like or not, which is always the hardest thing to do, at least for me anyway. This season of life WILL pass, and soon the things that trouble you now will be far behind you. Keep that in mind as you face whatever daily struggles you have to battle with. And remember, you’re not the only one.

6 Replies to “When I Want to Burn My To-Do List…”

  1. Good reminder to keep pressing on, in God’s strength.
    (Also, my ‘quick, easy fix-it tip’ is taking a moment to focus on God, spend a minute in prayer, read Psalm 62 until your emotions calm and peace settles. Even when there are a million other things to do, a moment with God is never wasted, and I find it always helps me focus and press on. πŸ™‚ )

    Liked by 2 people

    1. So true! That’s one of the things that I struggle with, though, is even having myself sit down and take the time to do that. That is a very good, comforting tip, Cassie! Thanks so much!

      Like

  2. I know the feeling. Though my refuge would be sweet tea and a episode of Emergancy. =/ IIf you ever need someone to talk to, you know I’m here.
    God will help you get through this.
    -Mikayla-

    Like

Thank you for reading! Comments are always appreciated!

