Reminder From Getting Carsick

Hey guys! I have some great tips for some of you who struggle with this certain area. This frustrating field is that of “getting carsick”. First tip: Don’t move from flat land to reeeally hilly/mountainous land, like from Texas to Pennsylvania. There’s no good transition there.

Secondly, don’t try to text anybody or change the time zone on your iPod, because that’s a really bad idea. Don’t even try it to prove that I’m right.

Third, don’t close your eyes. That just makes it WORSE. Want to know how I know all of these things? Can you say “lots of personal experience”?

Ok, so now serious. πŸ™‚ I get motion sick, and a form of it is getting carsick. I can’t read, do something that requires looking down, etc. So today, I had an hour car ride through the hilly back roads, and for me it was not fun. But, I discovered a tactic that helped temporarily. I was able to stare at the sky (which was so beautiful… I get side-tracked easily), and that eased the churning of the brain and stomach somewhat. Since I get side-tracked so easily, I’m also prone to find serious tips out of odd object lessons. My weird brain suddenly compared the carsickness andΒ keeping my eyes fixedΒ on the sky, to that of life being so crazy and chaotic, and keeping my eyes fixed on the Lord.

There are seriously days when it’s like life is just whizzing by, everything’s happening so fast, and there’s no way to slow it down. Nothing seems to be steady or stable, and it’s a chaotic craziness that sometimes seems like it won’t end. Keep your eyes steadily fixed on the Lord. He is the only thing that will never change, and that’s the only stable, steady thing that we can really hold on to. I know y’all already know this, but I’ve heard it for forever, too, and I still need that reminder. When life is whizzing by and you can’t slow it down, keep your eyes on the Lord; He is the only thing that we can hold on to that will never change.

8 Replies to “Reminder From Getting Carsick”

  1. I’m with you on this one. Car sickness is no fun, I had trouble with it when we traveled to D.C. as well. =P I love your ability to make a message out of anything. Thank you.
    -Mikayla-

    Like

    1. Haha, sometimes I think I should just leave the random stuff alone and not try to pull something deeper out of it. πŸ˜‰ But thank you!

      Oh man, I remember when you went to D.C…. my inbox was empty for an eon. πŸ˜›

      Like

  2. I really needed this reminder today. Thanks, Lauren!

    I grew up in the hills, so I am quite used to hilly and curvy roads and actually love it, but I do feel sympathy for those who cannot enjoy it just as I feel bad for those who cannot fully enjoy spring because of allergies.

    Thanks for sharing! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Your comments really make my day! πŸ™‚

      The hilly and curvy roads are beautiful, and I love riding on them… just not when certain people drive. πŸ˜‰

      Is there any way that I could pray for you? πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Awe! I am glad you enjoy my comments. πŸ˜‰

        Thanks for asking. I would actually really appreciate prayer to be more disciplined in reading and studying God’s word and just spending more time with God. I have had some pretty rough past few weeks and things have seemed to get only worse, but I was convicted the other day about how little time I spend in God’s word, yet I spend so much time doing other things and I guess it just struck me that my lack of time spent with God has affected my life in many ways for the worse. I think it would make a huge difference in my life and how I handle these rough seasons, if I actually really spent time in God’s word and really studied it deeply for myself. Spending more time in God’s Word isn’t going to necessarily take away my problems, but having a closer walk with God and knowing him better will give me greater peace in the storms of life.

        Anyway, that got long, but you asked. πŸ˜› hehe!

        Anything I can be praying for you about?

        Like

        1. Oh yes, I can definitely pray for that! I’ve actually been having the same thoughts lately, so I can relate! I hope that things get better for you, Hannah, I really do, and I will be praying that they do. πŸ™‚

          I did ask, ’cause I wanted to know! I don’t mind long answers!

          Well, I suppose you could pray that we find a church home here soon. It took us two years to find our last church, and during that time, it made me really start *not* appreciating churches. I really don’t want to have to go from church to church again for two years! πŸ™‚ Thanks!

          Like

          1. Thanks so much! I really appreciate your desire to pray for me. That blesses me a lot.

            I know the church struggle. My family was in that same position a couple years ago. For the last couple years that I was still living at home with my family, my parents were looking for a new church and visiting a lot of places and it was super hard on all of us because we didn’t feel like we had any family because we were always just visiting churches. So when I went off to college I was super thankful for a good solid church to really get involved in and have a love for and earlier this year I officially joined the church too. So I definitely can sympathize with that longing to quickly find a good solid church family and will definitely be praying for that for you and your family.

            Liked by 1 person

Thank you for reading! Comments are always appreciated!

