He Is In Control

This isn’t meant to be a long post, but it’s something I’ve been thinking about for the past couple of days. I don’t know why God allows certain things to happen. I don’t see how some things fit in to His sovereign plan. Why would He allow a young girl to be beaten and raped over and over again? Why would He let a sweet, old lady die of a stroke? Why would He let there be millions of orphans in the world? Why would He let someone grow up in a fatherless home, without any love from their family? Why does He allow these things? How could He let things like this happen?

I don’t know. I hate it with everything in me. I hate knowing that there are girls across the world, just like me, who are being abused every day. I hate knowing thousands of babies are being aborted every year. I hate knowing that children are being sold into slavery. I hate knowing that there are orphans across the world, dying of starvation, without ever knowing a mother’s love. I hate it all. It breaks my heart, and moves me to tears.

But somehow, God is still in control.

How can I say that? It hardly seems that way even to me. Where was God when that girl was being beaten by the one who was supposed to love her? Where was He when the starving orphan in Africa took his last breath without hope?

I don’t know how, but He was still God even then. He was still sovereign, still unchanging. Even in those dark moments, He is still in control. That doesn’t mean that He causes every evil thing in the world, by any means whatsoever. But that does mean that He can work good out of a bad situation. We may not be able to see or understand it now, but He is still in control.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” – Rom. 8:28

4 Replies to “He Is In Control”

  1. Great post, Lauren. These are tough to work through and can be maddening to try and figure out. Two things I have come to realize. One is that we live in a fallen world and it is Satan’s workplace. He has come to kill, steal, and destroy. The other is what you wrote about. God is sovereign and is able to work miraculous good out of unspeakable evil. Thanks for posting this.

    Liked by 2 people

Thank you for reading! Comments are always appreciated!

