Who He Is

As I type this, I’m looking out the window at a beautiful day. I’ve got my Bible and theology books spread out on the desk before me, next to my mug of tea (which I’m trying to learn to like). I’m in the middle of working on apologetics speeches, but as I am, it’s suddenly hitting me how much of a mystery Jesus really is.

I’m looking at Luke 18:17, “Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” When I first look at this verse, my immediate interpretation is that we are to accept the kingdom of God without question, with the innocence and ignorance of a child. On further thought, children ask questions all the time. They’re always inquiring, always curious about everything.

What did Jesus mean when He said this? What was He trying to imply? Was His meaning even in line with either of my thoughts?

I think of the Calvinism vs. Arminianism debates. Why would God put just enough evidence for either side to claim, so that churches would be divided and people turn against each other, arguing their points for centuries, and centuries to come?

I think of the virgin birth that I just wrote a short speech on. There are three main, significant reasons why the virgin birth of Christ is essential to Christianity; but unless you were to really research it, you otherwise wouldn’t give much thought to the essentiality of the virgin birth. And yet it holds so much meaning to our faith.

The meaning and significance of the incarnation? How could Jesus be both God and man? If God is infinite, how could He limit Himself in the person of Christ? How do you respond to the statement, “Heaven is only a state of mind”?

Are you prepared to answer any of these questions? How much about your own faith do you really know?

All these things testify the mystery of who Christ is to me, of how much more there is to Him than we think of. We slap the label of “a good, loving, merciful God” on His name, but do we stop to marvel at how great He really is? He gave us parables with hidden meanings, and seemingly simple commands with amazingly powerful truths buried deep inside. His words are filled with so much depth and meaning, a true reflection of who He is. I find it amazing.

2 thoughts on “Who He Is

Thank you for reading! Comments are always appreciated!

