How Do You Want to Be Known?

Hey guys. Sorry it’s been a while. I’ve had a ton of crazy stuff happening in my life over the past few months, so I’ve really neglected y’all here. I know that lately I’ve done a lot of short stuff, things that aren’t really deep or quite as serious. I’m sorry about that. I haven’t had the time or desire to write anything longer – but I had the time this past weekend, so I thought I’d get something out. I’m working on trying to get stuff up here, it’s just taking a little time. Prayers for me would definitely be appreciated! Anyway, here’s your post.

I’ve heard sermons preached before about “the girl” from 2 Kings 5, who was a captive from Israel, serving Naaman’s wife. You probably have, too. About her submission, her diligence, respect, etc., etc… One of the messages I heard about her was early one Sunday morning about three years ago, in the women’s Sunday school. (I was reminded of this by looking through old church notes – and discovered that that was the morning when I scribbled out a poem during the message. But hey, I still learned something!) The point of that particular message was about living with a purpose. Which is sort of what I want to talk about today.

I’m going to ask you a question, and you don’t have to actually answer me, but I want you to think about it in your head for a good, solid minute. Here it is: How do you want to be known?

Think about it. How do you want to be known? How do you want people to think of you, to talk about you?

Of course, if I’m going to pose this question to you, I need to actually think of an answer for myself.

I want others to see me as overflowing with the love of Christ, a beautiful new creation, a deeply caring, true friend, a passionate warrior, a humble slave… the list goes on.

Self-evaluation quiz: Where am I on those goals?

*crickets chirping in background*

 Can you relate?

I’m so, so, so, sooooo very far from reaching those aspirations. They seem so far from reach, especially when I’m in the dark valleys that life pitches at me. Considering the place I’m in right now, it definitely seems farther than ever before.

But I can’t let this stop me.

I have this rather common condition that you might suffer from, as well. It’s called universal comparisonism. (I just made that up, actually.) I compare myself with just about everyone. And guess what? I fall short of just about everyone.

But I can’t let this stop me.

Next to universal comparisonism is universal discouragementism. I get discouraged. I feel like quitting. The long, seemingly-laborious toil of day after day after day getting it wrong while trying to get it right, can be very discouraging. It’s very disappointing when we don’t reach a goal after trying so, so hard to reach it.

But I can’t let this stop me.

Why not?! I’ve got all these things going against me. Why should I try to be something that clearly I’m not?

Because Christ asks these things of me. It’s my purpose – to strive to please Him. I should show the love of Christ. I should be seen as a beautiful new creation by His work (and His work only!). I should be a deeply caring, true friend. God asks for passionate warriors. He demands humble slaves. And His list goes on.

2 Pet. 1:5-7, “For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection (or brotherly love, as I think the KJV puts it); and to mutual affection, love.”

*flips over to 2 Tim. 2:22 – I love hearing the crinkle of the pages in a Bible*

“Flee the evil desires of youth and pursue righteousness, faith, love and peace, along with those who call on the Lord out of a pure heart.”

And there are more commands in Scripture.

See, without commands from Christ, we’re sort of living in limbo land – not for sure what to do with our life. What’s the purpose of living if there’s nothing to live for? Why would you just breathe air, without trying to accomplish anything? And if Christ has given us things to strive for, things to pursue and to add to our faith, why on earth shouldn’t we pursue these things?

How do you want to be known? Do you want to be known as the most athletic, the most talented, the most beautiful, the most popular? Or… do you want to be known as someone who is using their life to serve the Lord, to seek to honor Him in all that they do, and though they fail, they continue to pursue the things He asks of us?

Dunno about you, but I’ll opt for the latter.

I don’t know how I’m known as now, but I’d much prefer being known as a warrior of Christ who is trying to add all of those things to my faith, who is fleeing the evil desires of youth, and pursuing all the things that please Christ. Of course I’m going to mess up – in fact, I’m going to mess up every day. But by the grace of God, I hope to have the strength to get back up on my feet and continue fighting on the battle front to honor Him.

And by actively seeking these things, I will be known by such.

7 Replies to “How Do You Want to Be Known?”

  1. How do I want to be known? “Apart from faith in Christ, there is no explanation for such a life.” Those are the words on the gravestone of William Borden, the missionary to the Northern Chinese muslims who died at 25 years old.

    I am so far off… 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Lauren,
    This is a great post!! I am with you when it comes to comparison and discouragement. It’s so easy to compare ourselves to others to see where we measure up. But God made each of us differently so it’s pretty pointless… Still hard to avoid though! As for discouragement, I set a lot of goals for myself and sometimes when I don’t think I’m where I should be, I get discouraged and want to give up. A phrase I heard recently that is helping me is: “progress not perfection!”
    As for how I want to be known… I want to be known as someone who radiates the love and joy of Christ to others. I want others to be pointed to Christ through me. Sometimes I have a hard time remembering life is not about me… It’s all about HIM!
    Thank you for sharing this post, it made me think and was an encouragement as well.
    Hope to see you soon,
    Rebekah

    Like

Thank you for reading! Comments are always appreciated!

