Beautiful Insanity

My God is insane.

Yes, I can hear you shrieking. “The conservative, teenaged blogger called God insane! May she be struck with a mighty lightning bolt…!”

It’s true. My God is insane.

For thousands of years, the people wandering this earth have practiced stealing, murder, deception, lust, coveting – you name it. Nasty, vile sins; thousands of people over thousands of years, repeating all the sins of those who came before us. Over and over, we’ve committed despicable sins, sneering at God, cursing His name, and rejecting His supremacy.

They have become filled with every kind of wickedness, evil, greed and depravity. They are full of envy, murder, strife, deceit and malice. They are gossips, slanderers, God-haters, insolent, arrogant and boastful; they invent ways of doing evil; they disobey their parents; they have no understanding, no fidelity, no love, no mercy. Although they know God’s righteous decree that those who do such things deserve death, they not only continue to do these very things but also approve of those who practice them. (Rom. 1:29-32)

This is us! Filled with wickedness, evil, greed and depravity, envy, murder, strife, deceit, malice – this is our race. We as humans are born as gossips, slanderers, God-haters, insolent, arrogant and boastful… and we see that the list goes on.

All of those things, are us? Yes. Wicked? Yes. Depraved? Yes. God-haters? Yes. We even know God’s righteous decree, and we continue to do these very things.

For years, I have committed many sins. I am as wholly guilty as all those who came before me. Over and over I’ve sinned, rejecting God, ignoring the beauty of the cross. I inherit the sins of envy, malice, arrogance… and we see that the list goes on.

But here’s where the insanity of my Lord applies.

My Jesus washed it all away.

The all-powerful, pure, perfect, holy Lord, looked down on slanderous, malicious, evil little me, and called me according to His purpose. He predestined me to be conformed to the image of His Son.

The all-powerful, pure, perfect, holy Lord, justified the slanderous, malicious, evil creature named Lauren.

Through Christ’s death on the cross, I have been made His child.

I know – it’s insane, isn’t it?! It’s just insane that the holy, almighty, divine, sinless Lord, would make such a dirty, rotten sinner His beloved child!

And yet, this is what my God does. He loves me so deeply… unconditionally… it’s just unfathomable. He doesn’t hold my sins before me – He washed them all away with His blood!

This is why my Lord is insane. His beautiful insanity has saved a wretch like me.

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Insanity

Thank you for reading! Comments are always appreciated!

