The Words I Would Have Said

This is for you, though I never knew you. We talked, but I failed to open your eyes to the truth. These are the things I wish you could have truly known in your heart, but I never got to tell you. These are the things I wish you would have heard if I had spoken them to you. This is what I wish I could have told you.

The world is full of hypocritical Christians. Christians who attend church every Sunday, belt out the worship songs, nod understandingly during the messages, and then go out Monday night to behave immorally and engage in activities that are not God-honoring. Christians who say that God is a God of love and mercy, but try to guilt-trip you into believing in Him.  Christians who scream their version of the gospel on street corners and try to “stuff it down your throat”, as you put it. Yes, the world is full of those. I know they’ve hurt you, and so you reject their message. But just keep reading. If you can stop bashing Christians for a moment, I promise it gets better. I’m not going to give you the same cliches that they have.

I know you’ve had experience with the Christians who shout ridiculous things at you, who seem completely intolerant, and tell you a lot of things you don’t want to hear. Believe me, I’ve had the same experiences before. I just wanted to let you know that true Christianity isn’t like that. Real Christians speak the truth in love, not anger or condemnation. For example, I told you that homosexuality is unbiblical, and it is. But I’m not going to scream at you and try to stuff it down your throat. What you do with any information is up to you; nothing that anyone says can ever change that. Christians are commanded to love one another, and actually tolerance (in the true meaning of the word, not the way that people mean it today) is a part of that in this sense.

We love others because we are loved by Christ. I know you said that you believe that Jesus died on the cross for our sins – and that’s great! I believe that, too! But the awesome part is that it doesn’t just stop there. Jesus wants to have a deep, close relationship with you. He wants to be more than a “guiding spirit” in our lives, as you put it, even though He is that. He loves you with an unfailing, unconditional love, and if you believe in Him, then you will find that every single one of your sins are forgiven. Isaiah 53:5: “But He was pierced for our transgressions, He was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was on Him, and by His wounds we are healed.” This is the amazing part for those who believe in Him, is that He doesn’t hold anything against you – not any sin you’ve ever done, are doing, or will do in the future. He’s completely removed it so that it is replaced with His righteousness, so that you are righteous in the eyes of God.

I know you say that you’re a Christian. You said that you think that Jesus died on the cross for your sins. But I don’t think you completely know what that means. Let me explain.

I know you’re angry. I know you struggle with certain sins. If we were to compare your life with the commands for living that God has given us, we would find that you’ve committed several offenses. Your life doesn’t match up with your claim to be a Christian. I know you have secret pains and a world of emotion that no one knows about. There’s a lot in your life that, when held up to God’s standards, seems unredeemable.

But I have wonderful news for you. There is no standard. What Jesus accomplished on the cross is freedom, as you told me that you believed – it means that you have been freed from your former life, your life of sin and shame, of guilt and regret, and that you are now bound to Christ.

He redeemed you with His blood; all you have to do is accept that. He died for you, and He wants you, He wants you to delight in His freedom and love and accept His forgiveness and redemption. But you push Him away because of the show that today’s so-called “Christians” put on.

Please, I know they’ve hurt you, but look at the truth. Look at what Christ has done for you. Don’t let others taint Christianity for you. Many will pervert what following Christ is supposed to be, and everyone will make mistakes sometimes. No one can be perfect. But turn your eyes to Christ, let Him be your example, and He will conform you to the image of His Son.

Thank you for reading! Comments are always appreciated!

