His Peace

It’s summer now, at least at our house. In years before, that would have meant nothing – simply that the weather outside got insanely hot.

But this year, it’s quite a bit different. And it’s not just because it doesn’t get hot in Pennsylvania…

Last year’s school is done, and I’m about to go ahead and start my junior year. (Whaaa?!)

I’m working a few days a week now, and I’ll be working more in a few weeks.

There are all kinds of appointments to go to, errands to run, things to do, on top of every day living. (Which, you know how that can go…)

In short, it’s been a bit crazy around here.

Crazy isn’t always bad. In fact, sometimes busy crazy can be good. But it’s not always a great thing if you have stress problems, like me.

I’ve been running around freaking out about life for the past week or so now, and it doesn’t promise to slow down.

(Stress and I don’t look good together. Let’s just leave it at “it’s not a very pretty sight.”)

 Going to see a friend Sunday, meeting and work Monday, appointment Tuesday, piano Wednesday, volunteering at the church Thursday, working Friday and Saturday, then Father’s Day and birthdays and more work AND there’s school and life AND IT DOESN’T STOP……….

So. I don’t know if you have a busy summer planned for you or not. But let me tell you something that can be a comfort even if you’re not stressing right now. This may just be a reminder, but it’s worth repeating.

 God gives peace.

*breathe*

I have two favorite peace verses I want to share. The first is found in John 14:27.

 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Can y’all feel it too? This verse just… is so perfect. He doesn’t give to us as the world gives. He gives us His peace.

His peace.

Do not let your hearts be troubled, and don’t be afraid, because He gives you His peace.

Jn. 16:33 is the second one.

 I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.

Yes… this one gives you chills, too. In this world you will have trouble – He’s not saying that you might encounter trouble, or that it might just be a minor hard time that won’t show up again. He guarantees it: you will have trouble. Not very comforting, in my mind…

…but He read my mind. (Proves how much my Creator knows me, huh?) The words following it up say, “But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

“You can breathe again, Lauren, because I have overcome the world,” He whispers to me.

“I have overcome the hard trial you face.

I have overcome the tears you shed when you think no one cares.

I have overcome the shadows in your eyes.

I have overcome your fears and anxieties.

I have overcome the world.”

Do we not have an INCREDIBLE Father?

When we have trouble, He gives peace, because He has overcome every trouble we could ever know.

May this give you comfort and joy today.

Thank you for reading! Comments are always appreciated!

